Unveiling @AnnaCullArt #MemberSpotlight #etsyevolution

Our #MemberSpotlight.  Anna Cull of AnnaCullArt on etsy.

anna_cull

The earth blooms in her hands. See for yourself. In her own words.

“My name is Anna Cull. I am a self-employed artist in Christchurch, New Zealand. A bit late to the party, I went to art school in 2009 at the tender age of 45 and completed a Diploma of Communication Art and Design. Since then, as well as working from home as a graphic designer, I have been teaching myself to paint. I started selling my work in 2013 and opened a shop on Etsy the following year. Having taken a lot of wrong turns in my working life, I feel blessed to now be doing something that I love.

ann_cull_PV
Anna’s #etsyevolution  Y.E.L.L.O.W. contest 1st place set & a Polyvore Top art & expression set. 4MARCH2017

I found out about Polyvore sets when we lost the ability to make treasuries on Etsy. Treasuries were a fun, social way of promoting each other’s shops and creating art from art. A few of us joined Polyvore around that time so that we could continue to create art online — and we haven’t looked back. I am constantly amazed at the creativity to be found on Polyvore. Contests provide handy prompts to create sets and are a great way of connecting with other people. I like to make fun, colourful art sets. I include items from Etsy when I can and also more than my fair share of cats. Even my fashion and interior design sets tend to be a little quirky.

anna_cullen

I am inspired by my surroundings, nature, architecture, colour and design, music and literature. I enjoy painting landscapes and ‘ordinary’ flora and fauna such as daisies or ducks. I find it fascinating that drawing or painting something can change the way you see it and how you feel about it. Some of my favourite artists are Claude Monet, Vincent van Gogh, Marc Chagall, Friedensreich Hundertwasser, Sali Herman, Wayne Thiebaud, Brian Wildsmith, and Dick Frizzell. I admire them because, even though they are all very different, they all offer fresh, positive ways of seeing and connecting with the world. I would love to be able to do that through my own art.

anna_cull2

Painting local landscapes has become more important to me since the 2010–2011 Christchurch earthquakes. ‘Eight-Second Exposure’ is based on a photograph I took before the quakes. The only things still standing on that corner are the wind-powered sculpture ‘Nucleus’ and the street lights. The painting was for sale but I decided it was too precious to part with and now it hangs in our living room as a reminder of happier days. In spite of all we’ve lost as a city, Christchurch is slowly rebuilding and has become an interesting mixture of historical nostalgia and cutting-edge innovation.

anna_cull3

If I had to describe my personal style, I would say I’m eclectic. I will happily put Art Deco together with retro sci-fi decor or mix vintage items with current fashion. I adore jewellery and scarves (at last count, I had over a hundred scarves… so I stopped counting). Colour and pattern, texture and design are more important to me than brand or designer. As long as I think things look good together, I’m happy.” *_*__*__*  Anna Cull of VISIT AnnaCullArt on etsy.

 

anna_cull4

 

 

Leave a Reply

