tea & buscuits with @artsdesireable #MemberSpotlight Maxwell & Susan #etsyevolution

 

m8Sometimes the voices climb to a fevered pitch and suddenly run along the sky together – entwine in harmony – as are the artistic voices of the husband & wife team Maxwell & Susan at artsdesireable on etsy. Nothing surreal here.  Just magic.

This is a #MemberSpotlight of our first place winner of our recent #etsyevolution group contest.  The pink themed Polyvore set was described as: “… an introduction of an interesting philosophy & the portrait/illustration of it has an intensity and fragmentation I very much love.” @alodo

m6
“I have forced myself to contradict myself…… Created by artsdesireable

In their own words …

I am Maxwell’s wife Susan (Zulu name Ukwezi) I did the treasuries on Etsy and now do the sets on Polyvore.

I discovered Polyvore through my Etsy ‘Flashmob’ Team….who are here going strong.
I am now addicted to doing sets and the creative freedom it allows me. Maxwell says it’s worse than when I did treasuries on Etsy!

We recently moved from the UK to South Africa my home country, we now live just outside Cape Town.

m2

“Tin roof, tin walls – sun and clouds. Township Collage”

Maxwell and I love living here in this exciting vibrant city (called by the locals The Mother City) where colour, life and art are foremost and of course the weather is warm the landscape amazingly diverse. The people are smiling and happy, despite poverty and corruption in the government.

m3
[Photo] Cape Town. Table Mountain looms above.
Maxwell is the artist still paints, draws takes photographs and works on his collage art. He is very inspired by SA.

I promote our shop. I am an Art Director, graphic designer and typographer, I worked in London on top fashion magazines as an Art Director. My hobby as such is making appliqué quilts and wallhangings.

Our shop, artsdesireable covers all Maxwell’s art from collage, drawing, painting to photography. He is a man of many talents and is also a creative writer, and of course fun to live with!

m1

  ‘Behind every Sky gate there’s a Secret Garden’

I [Susan] suppose my style is eclectic…..sometimes it’s very clearly graphic and others loose and free. I am a voracious reader, so this was how quotes which inspired me crept into my Etsy treasuries and now sets. I think they add another dimension to the visual. My wall hangings and quilts are totally different from Maxwells’ work. My appliqué is figurative and rather simple.

m4
Textile Magic Created by Susan of artsdesireable

We both love art and have a good collection of African art and photography, some English art too. A Hockney etching from his Grimmes Fairy Tales and some Peter Blake drawings.

Robert Rauschenberg is Maxwell’s hero and he finds his work inspirational. He made a documentary film on Rauschenberg for BBC Arena a good few years ago and interviewed Bob at his home in Captiva. Max loves artist Paul Nash, the surrealists and new young South African artists known as ‘Born Frees’ because they were born after 1994 when SA became free from Apartheid. [ed]

Maxwell had also interviewed Louise Bourgeois in NY, Peter Clarke and George Hallet (SA) and many others for art magazines.

m5

‘Stream Pebbles’

Maxwell is a surrealist at heart. Sabonga, Susan

Leave a Reply

